Kevin De Bruyne has been named the 2020 Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year.

The playmaker beat Liverpool’s title-winning quarter of Sadio Mane, Virgil van Dijk, Jordan Henderson and Trent Alexander-Arnold to become Manchester City’s first recipient of the award. 

De Bruyne, who nailed 13 goals and a record-equalling 20 assists, was voted the campaign’s top performer by his peers and was quick to thank his manager for handing him full creative licence.

“We speak often about the team but in a lot of senses he knows when he gives the orders of what the team has to do that I will listen,” De bruyne said concerning his club manager, ” Pep Guardiola”. The midfilder praised his club manager for his contribution towards this achievement.